Symphonies nos. 1, 2, and 3

0.00 Avg rating0 Votes
Publisher: Courier Corporation
Pages: 489 pages
Binding: Hard Cover
ISBN10: 0486270505
ISBN13: 9780486270500
Physical Form: Book
Size: cm
In the course of his musical career, Tchaikovsky attained a thorough mastery of orchestration as he strove to intensify the expressiveness of his musical language. This volume, combining authoritative full-score editions of his first three symphonies — popularly known as "Winter Daydreams," the "Little Russian," and the "Polish" — affords composers, musicians, and music students a unique opportunity to study his development.
All three symphonies — two of which incorporate Russian folk tunes — were successful on their first performances. Symphony No. 2 remains especially popular, but all are increasingly heard in concert and on recordings.